Jump to content


Photo

Reputation in IWD1


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 grogerson

grogerson
  • Member
  • 90 posts

Posted 26 June 2006 - 12:25 PM

Crazy question - Does it exist?

I've read some walk-throughs and they note some places where you lose it, but none on where you gain it. And I've found nothing in the game screens stating what my party reputation is.

Any help here?

#2 Andyr

Andyr

    HERR RASENKOPF

  • Member
  • 2318 posts

Posted 26 June 2006 - 02:29 PM

It exists (Rangers and Paladins can Fall) but IIRC nothing else changes it, and it is not visible to the party.

So, aside from Falling, I'm pretty sure nothing affects it.
"We are the Gibberlings Three, as merry a band as you ever did see..." - Home of IE mods

< jcompton > Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

#3 Vlad

Vlad
  • Member
  • 577 posts

Posted 28 June 2006 - 11:45 PM

You gain it and you loose, all over the game. The reputation and quest XP system in IWD is more ballanced than in BG2. Also, in IWD, there are many checks for your stats when you receive or report quests.

Edited by Vlad, 28 June 2006 - 11:47 PM.


#4 grogerson

grogerson
  • Member
  • 90 posts

Posted 29 June 2006 - 06:20 AM

Thanks, Vlad.

Any idea if there's an in-game way to check it? As I said earlier, I don't see any reference to reputation on any of the screens... :unsure: Having to exit the game and check it with Dale Keeper just doesn't have much appeal.

#5 Creepin

Creepin
  • Administrator
  • 1676 posts

Posted 30 June 2006 - 12:51 PM

I don't think there's in-game way to check your rep.
If you're so inclined, you could perhaps write a simple player script that will DisplayStringHead your current rep when assigned to a char though ^_^

The Old Gold - v0.2 WIP (mod for BGT/BWP/BWS)


#6 Vlad

Vlad
  • Member
  • 577 posts

Posted 03 July 2006 - 05:14 AM

Well, as I'm playing IWD only in BG2 environment I cannot help you with the interface of IWD. In BG2, it is not a problem. :D

#7 -voromir-

-voromir-
  • Guest

Posted 21 August 2016 - 08:08 PM

its on your record sheet under proficiencies with your THAC0 and lore



#8 The Imp

The Imp

    Not good, see EVIL is better. You'll LIVE.

  • Member
  • 5042 posts

Posted 22 August 2016 - 12:56 AM

its on your record sheet under proficiencies with your THAC0 and lore

Right, in the IwDEE and IWDinBG2, cause it's surely not the Number of Attacks you indicate it to be:

iwind000.jpg

This is from the original game, as there, it's not shown anywhere, which is what grogerson's original post was about.

As to how it effects the game, you get a strait cheaper equipment if it's high enough and to my memory, there is only a few quest rewards that give reputation, so much so that as your start reputation is 10 by default, it's cheapest to buy the reputation by donating to the temples. Fun fact, the original in game tables(reputati.2da) do not tell you that you would be able to do this either, as they show that the amount sum would be zero, but I am sure can.


Yep, Jarno Mikkola. my Mega Mod FAQ. Use of the BWS, and how to use it(scroll down that post a bit). 
OK, desert dweller, welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand. Ouh, actually it was still snow then.. but anyways.


#9 Ishad Nha

Ishad Nha
  • Member
  • 80 posts

Posted 22 August 2016 - 07:16 PM

In any save game folder, party Reputation is at offset 54h in your Icewind.gam file.

It is found also in the individual Cre files for each party member at offset 44h.



#10 The Imp

The Imp

    Not good, see EVIL is better. You'll LIVE.

  • Member
  • 5042 posts

Posted 22 August 2016 - 11:09 PM

In any save game folder, party Reputation is at offset 54h in your Icewind.gam file.
It is found also in the individual Cre files for each party member at offset 44h.
Yeah, with a hex editor... it's not like everyone of us has them. And yes, the NearInfinity is one, but that not the same as the game itself. And were you to go and change it in the hex editor, what would happen if say one had 20 and all the others had it as 8 ?

Yep, Jarno Mikkola. my Mega Mod FAQ. Use of the BWS, and how to use it(scroll down that post a bit). 
OK, desert dweller, welcome to the sanity, you are free to search for the limit, it's out there, we drew it in the sand. Ouh, actually it was still snow then.. but anyways.


#11 Ishad Nha

Ishad Nha
  • Member
  • 80 posts

Posted 23 August 2016 - 06:02 PM

Not you being difficult again...

Just alter all six embedded Cre files, as well as the Gam file.