Jump to content


Problems with power of one


4 replies to this topic

#1 -Xarn-

-Xarn-
  • Guest

Posted 22 March 2010 - 09:10 AM

I didnt know where to post this, but this seemed like the best place. When I am in curst administration, and I cast power of one, it actually decreases strength instead of increasing it. (I suppose this is bug, or did I miss some dialog saying something like "here in carceri, support magic is fucked up"?) Mods installed are fixpack, tweak pack, unfinished business and widescreen UI (I really dont think this one has anything to do with it but...).


Also is it just me or are spells which pause the game during animation, playing havoc with timing? (casting time and such)

#2 -Prince-

-Prince-
  • Guest

Posted 22 March 2010 - 05:21 PM

Strength of One sets the strength of each member of the party to 18/75. If a character has a higher strength than this already, his or her strength is indeed lowered to 18/75. The spell description mentions this. So this is not a bug.

#3 Qwinn

Qwinn
  • Modder
  • 3085 posts

Posted 22 March 2010 - 10:37 PM

Sorry, Prince, but that's incorrect. The spell "Strength of One" does not exist in PS:T. Power of One is a slightly modified Strength spell, and does just give a random boost.

Xarn, the reason it went negative in Curst is actually intended, as part of the Planescape setting rules. Some spells work backwards, oddly or not at all when you cast them on other planes. It's not just the strength spells that this happens to, but those are the ones that get the most notice and are the most obvious.

There are unimplemented items called Spell Keys - one for each plane you can visit - that, if in your possession, make your spells work normally. One of these months I'll get around to implementing them once I come up with a way to do so that I'm pleased with.

Qwinn

#4 -Prince-

-Prince-
  • Guest

Posted 24 March 2010 - 06:01 AM

You are correct. I mixed things up, since there is indeed a Strength of One spell in other Infinity engine/D&D games. Somehow I just thought things wrong, I'm glad you corrected me though.

#5 -Xarn-

-Xarn-
  • Guest

Posted 28 March 2010 - 08:58 AM

Ok thanks, I guess that is what I get for not going through PS lore... (I am curous though, what other spells are affected?)



Reply to this topic