BiG World Setup trouble

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Urborg Vengrath

Urborg Vengrath
  • 33 posts

Posted 13 April 2014 - 05:34 PM

Hello,

I'm new to the BWS, but it looks like it is taking organizing and installing mods to the next level. So I am eager to try it out and get it working smoothly. However I ran into trouble the other night and it is persisting.

When BWS begins to check sites for the availability of mod downloads, before any are even installed, I am receiving a blue screen that says Windows has shut down  to protect itself and that I need to restart my computer. So I end up having to power down and starting the computer up again.

Now, I am using bws_20140215 and I am running Windows XP. My anti-virus is on at this point, but I told it to trust BWS. I have SoA and ToB installed (not the enhanced versions), with the recommended patch for ToB. BWS is in the SoA folder. I started a fresh game in both SoA and ToB. The  folder's that Jarno/The Imp recommended to remove in his FAQ (save, temp save, etc.) have been deleted.

I'm not sure what to do to solve this. Has anyone else experienced the same issue? I'd appreciate any advice you guys could offer.

Edited by Urborg Vengrath, 13 April 2014 - 05:35 PM.

I shall consume the living and the dead.

#2 kreso

kreso
  • 297 posts

Posted 15 April 2014 - 08:02 AM

Try disabling UAC.

#3 dabus

dabus
  • 1982 posts

Posted 15 April 2014 - 09:25 AM

Windows XP does not have UAC...
Maybe looking at the log would help finding out what's going on.
BWS internally works by executing commands in a cmd-prompt. If your computer freaks out when it does that, you'll likely have problems using it at all.
THINK! - It's not illegal.

#4 The Imp

The Imp

Not good, see EVIL is better. You'll LIVE.

• 5150 posts

Posted 15 April 2014 - 10:07 AM

Erhm, the XP Professional does. At least that's what this documentation implies. And the others might get it at SP3...