Photo

Rest restrictions mod: where should I start?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ralessandro634

ralessandro634
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 April 2020 - 11:18 AM

Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum so I'm not sure I'm writing in the right place, so apologize if I'm not.

I'd like to create a mod for BG2EE introducing rest restrictions, for example you can't sleep more than once per day or per location.

I'm a software engineer so I can definitely write code, unfortunately I have absolutely 0 experience with modding games and I really don't know where I should start.

Could you please give me some basic instructions on how I could realize the mod I intend, just to get me started?

Thanks in advance

#2 jastey

jastey
  • Administrator
  • 3218 posts

Posted 12 April 2020 - 11:38 AM

I have to admit I am not sure how such a mod would be scripted. I know areas can be tagged so resting isn't allowed, but I wouldn't know how to restrict resting to once per day as this would probably involve a timer, but resting is done by pressing the rest party button where I am not sure how to disable it.

#3 The Imp

The Imp

Not good, see EVIL is better. You'll LIVE.

• 5150 posts

Posted 12 April 2020 - 02:28 PM

Well, I had something to this effect in mind once:

//EE -part

COPY_EXISTING_GLOB ~.*\.are$~ ~override~	 // 

PATCH_IF (REQUIRE_PREDICATE GAME_IS ~bgee bg2ee eet~) BEGIN
	WRITE_SHORT 0x10 (THIS BOR BIT5) //EE only
BUT_ONLY
END

//non-EE
PATCH_IF (PATCH_IF (REQUIRE_PREDICATE GAME_IS ~tob tutu tutu_totsc~) BEGIN
COPY_EXISTING_GLOB "*.are$" "override"	// non-EE
	READ_ ~0x~ ~~
	PATCH_IF ~~ BEGIN
	WRITE ~0x~ ~~ END

READ_LONG ~0x00c0~ ~inteindex~
	READ_	~%inteindex% + 0x0048~ ~creature~
	PATCH_IF (~%creature%~ = 0 ) BEGIN
	LPF ~~ END
BUT_ONLY
END

STR_VAR fj_name to the name of the rest interrupts (for editor use only);
    INT_VAR fj_cre_strref0...fj_cre_strref9 to string displayed upon party ambush (default -1);