#1 King Diamond

King Diamond

Give Me Your Soul...Please

• Modder
  • 1430 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 03:20 AM

Subj (with a grammar mistake :P ).

Let's take as an example STATS.IDS

It contains textual abbreviations for several numeric codes that can be used in some script functions. As a result - you just can make your script coding USER FRIENDLY, nothing more. :)

But as a programmer myself I see that something is missing in all that scheme taking in account that new mods can (and DO) add new entries in that IDS.

It has absolutely no sense for me because before adding of some new working code (as far as I understand a CODE has a meaning for the engine) you have to force a game engine 'to LEARN' that new code, to learn how to process it and what to do if it found it in a script (not synbolic script but already COMPILED).

So, I've definitely missed something in that scheme and can't find a trace on how the game engine resolves newly added codes/names. Plz somebody tell me - how does it work? :)

P.S. LEVELDRAIN constant with a code 200. Present in ToB, Ascension versions of STATS.IDS but in BP's one it has a code 134. In use EVERYWHERE, in all game configs. So how will engine react if it'll find it in script?
And the most important thing: who/what and where will set PC's state to LEVELDRAIN value? (spells/effect parameter..? can't find anything...)

Edited by King Diamond, 01 March 2005 - 03:39 AM.

(last update: 02-12-2008)
----------------------------------------------
SoS, v1.13
TDD, v1.12
TS-BP, v6.10
CtB, v1.11
RoT, v2.1
BP Animations Scheme

#2 igi

igi

IESDP Guardian

• Administrator
  • 1058 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 04:10 AM

You can't add *new* data to all the .IDS files.
You can only add data the engine already knows about, but isn't listed in the IDS files.

Visit the IESDP

#3 King Diamond

King Diamond

• Modder
  • 1430 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 04:57 AM

You can't add *new* data to all the .IDS files.