Translation into another language

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Leonardo Watson

Leonardo Watson
  • Modder
  • 531 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 06:15 AM

Hi, I'm a german translator and would like to translate BP-BGT-DSotSC into german. This would be much more easier if you would use TRA Translation files instead of the hard coded D Files. Would you please do the favour at further updates of the WeiDu formatted mods? Thank you for your understanding!

#2 Sir BillyBob

Sir BillyBob
  • Modder
  • 5315 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 03:11 PM

I wouldn't consider the D file as being "hard" coded. At least not when compared to the old way of copying the whole dialog.tlk file.

None of my mods have been packaged with a TRA file because no one ever volunteered to translate any of them. Which for a mod as old as DSotSC never made sense to me. But anyway, you do realize that unless BGT-Weidu is converted first, only the actual new text from DSotSC would be in German? That means about 90% of your mod is in English. To me it would be more logical to convert BGT-Weidu first, then the smaller mods. Yes, I will plan for that option in the future.

Tired of Bhaal? Try some classics mods instead:
Classic Adventures
Official Classic Adventures Website

#3 weigo

weigo
  • Modder
  • 130 posts

Posted 31 July 2005 - 01:43 AM

Hi,
the german translation for the new BGT-Weidu is still in development. It will be finished in the next few weeks. (I don't know exectly when)
So, it would make sense to translate DSotSC into another language. The Chosen of Mystra version of DSotSC is still translated to german. So we could use that translation as a basis for the BGT version.

I compared the Dialog files and only five files have few different entries.
I lokalised the items, both version uses and we have to copy the translation for that items into the setup.tra file.
And the next step is to compare the .spl files.