• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Chunk

Chunk
  • 10 posts

Posted 11 March 2010 - 03:40 PM

Hello everybody!

Or should I say hello world;

This is mainly the why I finally chose to step outside the shadows and join what seems to be pretty fun around here;

It always bothered me that the endings almost never change. Whether you are a fighter, a mage or a bard you might not end up the same than a druid. Or the things you have done during the Baldur's gate saga ...or not done should have at least an influence. This beyond the impact of the romances. It started first with a couple of ideas about the , in my opinion, unsatisfying ending when you romance Viconia and choose to stay mortal : you become a diplomat no matter what. And she dies and you cannot find a way to raise her back. Which seems odd when you have as friends the most powerful characters in all Faerun.

I have a rough idea of how it could be done. But I am completely new to modding, and aware of the hard coded limitations of the engine. So here is the basic :

Using a rather fix ending backbone text in which through parsing lists of word according to their context and what the player has done could or could not be inserted in the end. It could be words or sentences indeed;
So, can it be done?

Cheers, Chunk

Edited by Chunk, 11 March 2010 - 03:41 PM.

#2 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

The Imp in his pink raincoat.

• 10911 posts

Posted 12 March 2010 - 01:24 AM

Using a rather fix ending backbone text in which through parsing lists of word according to their context and what the player has done could or could not be inserted in the end. It could be words or sentences indeed;
So, can it be done?