Problems with a Dialog

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 -Reapper99-

-Reapper99-

Posted 04 May 2004 - 06:06 PM

Hi, i'm a bit new to modding (started 2 days ago :P ) and have worked my way through most resources out there i could find. Since i have a little programing knowledge i found most things quite selfexplanatory, so i started to make a mini-mod and run into a serious problem.

Here is my problem:

I want to make a Modron Cube in BGII similar to the one from PsT. I succeded in creating a Dialog for the item, the item itself and i also made it conversable (used the faq from Teambg). The dialog is initiated, but no text is displayed. If i click somewhere with the mouse, i can click the dialog responses (works also with the numbers on the keyboard). When using a response, the Multisays are working (also with no text, but the button on bottom right is there and it brings me to the next block) and i have the expected numbers of executed blocks at each response option.

I ran into some errors while making the item, maybe the error is there? I first used IEEP's item editor to make a new item (bam files from PsT are working after modification). I left the textfileds for the identified and unidentified states blank (i want to set them with WeiDU .tp2 files later. maybe that was the error??) and added no extension header for weapons (it should just be an item in the inventory). Upon saving i got the error "Couldn't save. Error writing dialog 1.3" (or something like this, can't remember now). So i used the Lilarcor itemfile as a new base, removed the weapon/item headers, modified the resources for the icons and saved it as my item.

I used a texteditor to make a *.d file and compiled it with WeiDU into a .dlg file and put it into my override folder als well as my item.

Then i edited the ITEMDIAL.2DA and added my item there.

In the game i clua'ed the item, identified it, and initiated a dialog, but with no text.