Photo

Weidu -- Syntax error

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Drathen

Drathen
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2002 - 07:40 PM

I'm an absolute newbie, but thankfully the tutorial is pretty useful.

That said, I've ran into a syntax error thats puzzling me. The syntax error says the error is near text: (.

I get the feeling it something pretty obvious, but I can't figure it out.

Here's the .d:

BEGIN orcireni

IF ~NumTimesTalkedTo(0)
Global("OrcTalk2cus","GLOBAL",0) THEN BEGIN 0
SAY ~(This has to be one of the uglier orcs you've seen. He's outfitted in typical orcish fashion, carrying an axe and wearing crude armor. The stylish monocle placed over one eye, and the thick book tucked under one arm gives you pause, however.) Oh-h-h-h, salutations, Sire.
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~Die, foul creature!~ EXIT
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~(yawn) Well, suppose I'd better make this quick. Don't worry, fella, you won't feel a thing... ... after your head is smashed in, anyway.~ DO ~ChangeEnemyAlly(Myself,EVILCUTOFF)
Enemy()
Attack(NearestEnemyOf(Myself))~ EXIT
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~Hold! This is no simple orc, friends... It is a WIZARD!~ EXIT
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~Ah... Er... I don't suppose you'd like to chat?~ GOTO 1

END

IF ~~ THEN BEGIN 1
SAY ~Oh, I'd love to! You know, I used to be quite the conversationalist myself. Of course... that... that was before my exile.~
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~How fascinating. Do go on.~ GOTO 3
IF ~~ THEN REPLY ~On second thought, I think I want to kill you.~ DO ~ChangeEnemyAlly(Myself, EVILCUTOFF)
Enemy()

END

IF ~~ THEN BEGIN 3