Photo

Rescaling Portraits and Paperdolls

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Xigyig

Xigyig
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 July 2013 - 12:18 PM

Hi! So I have a couple ideas, but I don't know if they can be done.

The first is increasing the dimensions of portraits and/or paper dolls in the GUI (party sidebar, dialog box, status/inventory screen). Can this be done? I assume it can't, since I haven't seen it done, but I couldn't find such information through searching.

The second involves assigning portraits to nonrecruitable NPCs (such as Firkraag, the Sahuagin King, etc). The only way I know to assign those portraits is by overriding the .cre files. I'm not necessarily asking for specifics, but is there a way to implement such a mod without making it incompatible with modes that also modify those characters?

Thanks in advance! And sorry if this is already answered elsewhere. I have limited experience modding BG.

#2 Sam.

Sam.
  • Administrator
  • 1294 posts

Posted 11 July 2013 - 01:03 PM

The second involves assigning portraits to nonrecruitable NPCs (such as Firkraag, the Sahuagin King, etc). The only way I know to assign those portraits is by overriding the .cre files. I'm not necessarily asking for specifics, but is there a way to implement such a mod without making it incompatible with modes that also modify those characters?

I believe the "Faces!" mod by Irbis & Jalily did this, but appears to have been removed from SHS for copyright reasons.  You can probably still find it somewhere in the ether if you look, though.